A commitment to read the Bhagavad Gita

Laziness has creeped into my being in the last few weeks. The intensity in my work has dropped, productivity has dropped, there are so many unread emails in my inbox…. Basically, I have lost sense of my priorities. In many ways, my state is similar to that of Arjuna just before the start of the Mahabharata war. Isn’t it high time to take up and read that good old scripture, the Bhagavad Gita?

So here, I make a commitment to read at least one verse of the Bhagavad Gita every morning, I have already started today. Not only that, I am going to take notes and I’m going to publicly blog about it. So, starting tomorrow, there will be blog posts here at jnanagni about my understanding of the Bhagavad Gita.

Disclaimer: These posts will be nothing more than my personal notes on my reading of the Bhagavad Gita. In no way do I mean to instruct the readers, I just want to instruct myself and document it publicly. And I’ll never claim that my understanding or interpretation of Gita is the best out there. It’s just my point of view, just an expression. In fact, this disclaimer applies to all the posts in this blog, past, present and future.

That said, I’ll make sure the posts will be like any other blog post, readable by others. Personal notes doesn’t mean it has to be haphazard. I welcome you to join me in my reading and you are most welcome to comment on these blog posts and have a discussion. This whole website is meant to be a discussion, a satsanga. Together, let us move towards better understanding.

6 thoughts on “A commitment to read the Bhagavad Gita

  1. You have inspired me to also read the Bhagavad Gita.

    I look forward to your comments. I have enjoyed reading everything you’ve written to this point. You always have wonderful insights and you are a very good writer. Thank you for your contributions. Peace

  2. Hi Satish, thanks for your words of appreciation and thanks for the link. Yes I very much know Tamil and I shall use your link as reference. Cheers, have a great time!

Leave a Reply

